Making Sure your Device is Protected
You can prevent other people from using your device without your permission. For example, if your device is lost, stolen, or wiped, only someone with your Google™ account or screen lock information can use the device. To make sure your device is protected, it is important that you set a secure screen lock and add your Google™ account to your device. It is crucial that you remember both your screen lock information and your Google™ account credentials. To make sure your device is protected, you can:
- Set a secure screen lock on your device, that is, a PIN, password, or pattern screen lock to prevent anyone from resetting your device. For more information, see Screen Lock.
- Add a Google™ account to prevent others from using your device if it gets stolen and/or wiped. For more information, see Why do I need a Google™ account?.
- Activate either the “Protection by my Xperia” or the Android™ Device Manager web service. Using one of these services, you can remotely locate, lock, or format a lost device. For more information, see Finding a lost device .
Verifying the Ownership of Your Device
Certain protection features require you to either unlock your screen with your PIN, password, or pattern, or enter your Google™ account information. Below are examples of protection features and some of the required credentials:
- Factory Data Reset protection: You must unlock your screen before you are allowed to perform a Factory Data Reset.
- Protection by my Xperia: If you remotely reset your device using this service, you must enter the username and password for a Google™ account associated with the service. The device must be connected to the Internet before the setup process can be completed. Otherwise, you will not be able to use your device after the reset.
- Android™ Device Manager: If you remotely reset your device using this service, you must enter the username and password for a Google™ account. The device must be connected to the Internet before the setup process can be completed. Otherwise, you will not be able to use your device after the reset.
- Software repair: If you use the Xperia™ Companion software to perform a software repair, you’re asked to enter your Google™ account username and password when you start the device after the repair is complete.
For Android™ Device Manager, it is necessary to enter information from a Google™ account. This can be any Google™ account which you have set up on the device. If you cannot provide the relevant account information during a setup process, you won't be able to use the device at all.