I cannot unlock my screen
If you forget your screen lock PIN, password or pattern, you can reset your Xperia™ device using either the Find My Device app from Google™ or the Xperia™ Companion computer application. Read about the requirements and results of each option below, and choose the method that suits you best.
- Reset your Xperia™ device with Find My Device.
Requirements: This reset method requires that your device is turned on, has internet access and that Find My Device is turned on in your device. A Google™ account has to be registered on your device and you need to know the account username and password. You also need access to a computer or a mobile device with an internet connection.
Results: All user data on the internal memory of your device will be deleted, including downloaded apps, photos, and device settings. Unless you remove the SD card before you reset your device, user data on the card will in most cases be deleted.
To reset your device using Find My Device
If you're using your Xperia™ device in a corporate environment, your IT department may have enforced encryption on the SD card. In this case, the content of the SD card is erased or made unreadable when you perform a reset, even if you remove the card beforehand.
- Turn off your Xperia™ device and remove the SD card to avoid deleting user data from the card.
- Turn on the device and make sure that you have an active Wi-Fi or mobile data connection.
- On a computer or in a mobile browser, go to the sign-in page for Find My Device .
- Sign in to the Google™ account that is registered on your device.
- Select Erase and follow the on-screen instructions. Remember that this action will delete all user data on the internal memory of your device.
- After you remotely erase the content, you can set up your device again with your Google™ account and a new screen lock.
- Reset your Xperia™ device with the Software repair feature in the Xperia™ Companion computer application.
Requirements: This method requires that you have access to a computer with an active internet connection. You need a USB cable to connect your device to the computer, and your device must have a minimum charge level of 80%.
Results: All user data on the internal memory of your device will be deleted, including downloaded apps, photos, and device settings. Content on the SD card will not be deleted.
To repair the device software using Xperia™ Companion
If possible, you should always back up all personal data before performing a software repair. All data in the internal memory is overwritten during a software repair. Content on an external SD card is kept.
- Make sure that Xperia™ Companion is installed on your PC or Mac®.
- Open the Xperia™ Companion software on the computer, but do not connect your Xperia™ device until you're told to in the five-step instruction in the Xperia™ Companion window.
- Select Software repair on the computer screen.
- Follow the on-screen instructions to reinstall the software and complete the repair.