Making sure your device is protected
Your device includes several security options, strongly recommended in case of loss or theft.
These options are as follows:
- Set a secure screen lock on your device using a PIN, password or pattern to prevent anyone from accessing or resetting your device. For more information, see Screen lock.
- Add a Google™ account to prevent others from using your device if it gets stolen or wiped. For more information, see Why do I need a Google™ account?.
- Activate either the “Protection by my Xperia” or the Android™ Device Manager web service. Using one of these services, you can remotely locate, lock or clear a lost device. For more information, see Finding a lost device .
Verifying the ownership of your device
Certain protection features require you to either unlock your screen with your PIN, password, pattern, or enter your Google™ account information. Below are examples of protection features and some of the required credentials:
- Factory Data Reset protection: You must unlock your screen before you are allowed to perform a Factory Data Reset.
- Protection by my Xperia: If you remotely reset your device using this service, you must enter the username and password for a Google™ account associated with the service. The device must be connected to the Internet before the setup process can be completed. Otherwise, you will not be able to use your device after the reset.
- Android™ Device Manager: If you remotely reset your device using this service, you must enter the username and password for a Google™ account. The device must be connected to the Internet before the setup process can be completed. Otherwise, you will not be able to use your device after the reset.
- Software repair: Use the Xperia™ Companion software to perform software repair.
For Android™ Device Manager, it is necessary to enter information from a Google™ account. This can be any Google™ account which you have set up on the device as an owner. If you cannot provide the relevant account information during a setup process, you won't be able to use the device at all.