account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
    Help us improve our website
    Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

    Making sure your device is protected

    Arrow left Xperia™ Z3 Tablet Compact WiFi support overview

    You can prevent other people from using your device without your permission. For example, if your device is lost, stolen, or wiped, only someone with your Google™ account or screen lock information can use the device. To make sure that your device is protected, it is important that you set a secure screen lock and add your Google™ account to your device. It is crucial that you remember both your screen lock information and your Google™ account credentials. To make sure your device is protected, you can:

    • Set a secure screen lock on your device, that is, a PIN, password, or pattern screen lock to prevent anyone from resetting your device. For more information, see Screen lock.
    • Add a Google™ account to prevent others from using your device if it gets stolen and/or wiped. For more information, see Why do I need a Google™ account?.
    • Activate either the “Protection by my Xperia” or the Android™ Device Manager web service. Using one of these services, you can remotely locate, lock or format a lost device. For more information, see Finding a lost device .

    Verifying the ownership of your device

    Certain protection features require you to either unlock your screen with your PIN, password, pattern, or enter your Google™ account information. Below are examples of protection features and some of the required credentials:

    • Factory Data Reset protection: You must unlock your screen before you are allowed to perform a Factory Data Reset.
    • Protection by my Xperia: If you remotely reset your device using this service, you must enter the username and password for a Google™ account associated with the service. The device must be connected to the Internet before the setup process can be completed. Otherwise, you will not be able to use your device after the reset.
    • Android™ Device Manager: If you remotely reset your device using this service, you must enter the username and password for a Google™ account. The device must be connected to the Internet before the setup process can be completed. Otherwise, you will not be able to use your device after the reset.
    • Software repair: Use the Xperia™ Companion software to perform software repair.

    Note

    For Android™ Device Manager, it is necessary to enter information from a Google™ account. This can be any Google™ account which you have set up on the device as an owner. If you cannot provide the relevant account information during a setup process, you won't be able to use the device at all.


    Did you find this information helpful?
    Yes No
    Your input is valuable!
    Why didn't you find this information helpful?
    Submit
    Thanks, we appreciate your input!