account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
    Help us improve our website
    Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

    Multiple user accounts

    Your device supports multiple user accounts so that different users can log in separately to the device and use it. Multiple user accounts work well in situations where you share the same device with other people or lend your device to someone to use for a while. The user who sets up the device for the first time becomes the owner of the device. Only the owner can manage the accounts of other users. Apart from the owner account, there are three different types of accounts:

    • Regular User: This account type is suitable for someone who regularly uses your device.
    • Guest User: Enable the guest account option for someone who just wants to use your device temporarily.
    • Restricted Profile: Use this option if you want to make only a restricted number of applications available to a person using your device.

    Note

    Some features are only available to the owner. For example, only the owner can allow downloads from sources other than Google Play™.

    About the Regular User account

    By adding Regular User accounts, you can allow different users to have different home screens, wallpapers and general settings. They also get separate access to applications and memory storage for files such as music and photos. You can add up to seven regular user accounts on your device.

    To add a regular user account

    1. Make sure your are logged in as the owner, that is, the user who set up the device for the first time.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Icn sony and app tray tablet.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Users > Add user or profile > User.
    4. Tap OK. The new account is created.
    5. Tap SET UP NOW. The screen locks and an icon representing the newly added user appears in the top right corner.
    6. Unlock the screen by swiping upwards.
    7. Follow the on-screen instructions to set up the account for the new user.

    Tip

    In cases where the person using the new account wants to set up the account but is not available at the time, you can tap NOT NOW in step 5. When the user is ready, they can select Users under Settings and see the new account, which appears as New user. Just tap the account and follow the instructions to finish setting it up.

    Tip

    You can also add a regular user account from the status bar on any screen. Just drag the status bar downwards using two fingers and tap the user icon, then tap Add user.

    To delete a regular user account from your device

    1. Make sure you are logged in as the owner.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Icn sony and app tray tablet.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Users.
    4. Tap Icn sony users settings beside the name of the user that you want to delete, then tap Remove user > Delete .

    About the Guest User account

    If someone just wants to use your device temporarily, you can enable a guest account for this user. In guest mode, your device starts up as a freshly installed system with only the pre-installed apps. Once your guest is finished using your device, you can wipe the session clean so that the next guest can start fresh. The guest user account is pre-installed and cannot be deleted.

    To activate the guest user account

    1. Make sure you are logged in as the owner, that is, the user who set up the device for the first time.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Icn sony and app tray tablet.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Users > Guest.

    Tip

    You can also activate the guest user account from the status bar on any screen. Just drag the status bar downwards using two fingers and tap the user icon, then tap Add guest.

    To clear the guest session data

    1. Make sure you are logged in to the guest account.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Icn sony and app tray tablet.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Users.
    4. Find and tap Remove guest.
    5. Tap Remove.

    Tip

    You can also clear the guest session from the status bar on any screen as long as you are logged in to the guest account. Just drag the status bar downwards using two fingers and tap the user icon, then tap Remove guest.

    About the restricted profile

    You can add restricted profiles, which only allow restricted access to apps from the owner account. For example, you can create a restricted profile for children to prevent them from playing games or viewing mature content from your account. You can add up to seven restricted profiles on your device.

    To add a restricted profile

    1. Make sure you are logged in as the owner, that is, the user who set up the device for the first time.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Icn sony and app tray tablet.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Users > Add user or profile.
    4. Tap Restricted profile. A list of available apps appears.
    5. To name the profile, tap New profile and enter a name, then tap OK.
    6. Drag the relevant slider to the right beside the apps to which you want to grant access.

    Tip

    If you don’t have a PIN, password, or pattern set up as your screen lock when you are adding a restricted profile, after tap Restricted profile in step 4, you will be asked to set up a screen lock and select an option about how to display notifications on your lock screen. Please follow the on-screen instructions you are prompted with. For more information about notification display options on the lock screen, see Notification display options on the lock screen.

    To delete a restricted profile from your device

    1. Make sure you are logged in as the owner.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Icn sony and app tray tablet.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Users.
    4. Tap Icn sony users settings beside the name of the profile that you want to delete, then tap Icn sony menu delete > Delete .

    Switching between multiple user accounts

    To switch between multiple user accounts

    1. To view the list of users, drag the status bar downwards using two fingers, then tap the user icon at the top right of the screen.
    2. Tap the icon representing the user account that you want to switch to. The lock screen for that user account appears.

    Tip

    When you switch to the guest account, tap Start again if you want to wipe the previous session or tap Yes, continue to continue the previous session.

    Tip

    Each user can set their own lock screen. See Screen lock.

    Settings for multiple user accounts

    There are three different types of settings on devices with multiple users:
    • Settings that can be changed by any user and affect all users. Examples include language, ‎Wi-Fi‎, Airplane mode, NFC and Bluetooth®.
    • Settings that only affect an individual user account. Examples include automatic data syncing, screen lock, various accounts added, and wallpaper.
    • Settings that are only visible to the owner and affect all users, for example, VPN settings.
    Did you find this information helpful?
    Yes No
    Your input is valuable!
    Why didn't you find this information helpful?
    Submit
    Thanks, we appreciate your input!
    Find your product
    Find
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number
    Find
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number