account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
    Help us improve our website
    Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

    Will I lose my data when I perform a software update?

    In the majority of cases, a software update does not remove any personal data from your Xperia™ device.

    We do recommend, however, that you back up photos, videos and other personal content to a non-internal memory, for example, an online backup option which saves your data to online servers (the cloud). You can do this using Settings > System > (Advanced)Backup (Android 9) Settings > System > Backup (Android™ 8.x) or Settings > Backup & reset (lower Android™ versions).

    Did you find this information helpful?
    Yes No
    Your input is valuable!
    Why didn't you find this information helpful?
    Submit
    Thanks, we appreciate your input!
    Close Close
    Find your product
    FindCreated with Sketch.
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number
    FindCreated with Sketch.
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number