account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
    Help us improve our website
    Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

    Will I lose my data when I perform a factory reset?

    Note! Before performing a factory data reset, make sure you know your Google™ credentials. Depending on your security settings, you may need to enter them in order to start up the device after a factory data reset. If you do not remember your Google account name or password, you can recover them using the Google Account Recovery page at https://www.google.com/accounts/recovery/. If you still can't reactivate your device, contact us.

    When you perform a factory data reset, you erase all personal data stored on the internal storage of your Xperia™ device.

    The following are examples of data that gets overwritten:

    • Your Google account and other accounts
    • Contacts
    • Calendar items
    • Notes
    • Messages (sent via SMS, MMS and email)
    • Applications and application data including game high scores
    • Photos, videos and music
    • Settings
    • Bookmarks

    Photos, videos, music and documents stored on an SD card do not get erased during a factory data reset.

    Note! Make sure that you always back up data stored on the internal storage that you want to keep before performing a factory data reset.

    Did you find this information helpful?
    Yes No
    Your input is valuable!
    Why didn't you find this information helpful?
    Submit
    Thanks, we appreciate your input!
    Close Close
    Find your product
    FindCreated with Sketch.
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number
    FindCreated with Sketch.
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number