account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
    Help us improve our website
    Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

    I cannot unlock my screen

    If you forget your screen lock PIN, password or pattern, you can reset your Xperia™ device using either the Find My Device app from Google™ or the Xperia™ Companion computer application. Read about the requirements and results of each option below, and choose the method that suits you best.

    • Reset your Xperia™ device with Find My Device.
      • Requirements: This reset method requires that your device is turned on, has internet access and that Find My Device is turned on in your device. A Google™ account has to be registered on your device and you need to know the account username and password. You also need access to a computer or a mobile device with an internet connection.

      • Results: All user data on the internal memory of your device will be deleted, including downloaded apps, photos, and device settings. Unless you remove the SD card before you reset your device, user data on the card will in most cases be deleted.

        To reset your device using Find My Device

        If you're using your Xperia™ device in a corporate environment, your IT department may have enforced encryption on the SD card. In this case, the content of the SD card is erased or made unreadable when you perform a reset, even if you remove the card beforehand.

        1. Turn off your Xperia™ device and remove the SD card to avoid deleting user data from the card.
        2. Turn on the device and make sure that you have an active Wi-Fi or mobile data connection.
        3. On a computer or in a mobile browser, go to the sign-in page for Find My Device .
        4. Sign in to the Google™ account that is registered on your device.
        5. Select Erase and follow the on-screen instructions. Remember that this action will delete all user data on the internal memory of your device.
        6. After you remotely erase the content, you can set up your device again with your Google™ account and a new screen lock.

    • Reset your Xperia™ device with the Software repair feature in the Xperia™ Companion computer application.
      • Requirements: This method requires that you have access to a computer with an active internet connection. You need a USB cable to connect your device to the computer, and your device must have a minimum charge level of 80%.

      • Results: All user data on the internal memory of your device will be deleted, including downloaded apps, photos, and device settings. Content on the SD card will not be deleted.

        To repair the device software using Xperia Companion

        Before performing a software repair, make sure you know your Google account username and password. Depending on your security settings, you may need to enter them in order to restart the device after a software repair.

        1. Make sure that Xperia Companion is installed on your PC or Mac.
        2. Open the Xperia Companion software on the computer and click Software repair on the main screen.
        3. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to reinstall the software and complete the repair.

    Did you find this information helpful?
    Yes No
    Your input is valuable!
    Why didn't you find this information helpful?
    Submit
    Thanks, we appreciate your input!
    Close Close
    Find your product
    FindCreated with Sketch.
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number
    FindCreated with Sketch.
    On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number