account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
    Help us improve our website
    Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

    Restarting and resetting your device

    Arrow left Xperia T3 support overview

    You can force your device to restart or shut down in situations where it stops responding or won't restart normally. No settings or personal data get deleted.

    You can also reset your device to its original factory settings. This action is sometimes necessary if your device stops functioning properly, but note that if you want to keep any important data, you have to first back up this data to a memory card or other non-internal memory. For more information, see Backing up and restoring content .

    If your device fails to power on or you want to reset your device’s software, you can use Xperia™ Companion to repair your device. For more information on using Xperia™ Companion, see Computer tool.

    Note

    Your device may fail to restart if the battery level is low. Connect your device to a charger and try restarting again.

    To force your device to restart

    1. Press and hold down the power key Icn sony key and power k90.
    2. In the menu that opens, tap Restart. The device restarts automatically.

    To force the device to shut down

    Ill sony 14sl force shutdown
    1. Detach the cover of the micro SIM card slot.
    2. Using the tip of a pen or a similar object, press and hold down the OFF button until the device shuts down.

    Note

    Do not use overly sharp objects that could damage the OFF button.

    To perform a factory data reset

    Note

    To avoid permanent damage to your device, do not restart your device while a reset procedure is underway.

    1. Before you start, make sure to back up any important data that is saved on the internal memory of your device to a memory card or other non-internal memory.
    2. From your Home screen, tap Application screen icon in Sony Smartphones.
    3. Find and tap Settings > Backup & reset > Factory data reset.
    4. To delete information, such as pictures and music, from your internal storage, mark the Erase internal storage checkbox.
    5. Tap Reset phone.
    6. If required, draw your screen unlock pattern, or enter your screen unlock password or PIN to continue.
    7. To confirm, tap Erase everything.

    Note

    Your device does not revert to an earlier software version of Android™ when you perform a factory data reset.

    Note

    If you forget your screen unlock password, PIN or pattern, you can use the device repair feature in Xperia™ Companion to erase the security layer. You need to provide your Google account login details to perform this operation. By running the repair feature, you reinstall software for your device and you may lose some personal data in the process.

    To repair the device software using Xperia™ Companion

    Note

    Before performing a software repair, make sure you know your Google™ credentials. Depending on your security settings, you may need to enter them in order to start up the device after a software repair.

    1. Make sure that Xperia™ Companion for Windows or Mac OS is installed on your PC or Mac®.
    2. Connect your device to the computer using a USB cable.
    3. Open the Xperia™ Companion software on the computer if it is not automatically launched and select Software repair on the screen.
    4. Follow the on-screen instructions to reinstall the software and complete the repair.

    Did you find this information helpful?
    Yes No
    Your input is valuable!
    Why didn't you find this information helpful?
    Submit
    Thanks, we appreciate your input!