Finding a lost device
If you have a Google™ account, the “Protection by my Xperia” web service can help you locate and secure your device if you ever lose it. If you have activated this service on your device, you can:
- Locate your device on a map.
- Sound an alert even if the device is in Do not disturb mode.
- Remotely lock the device and make the device display your contact details to anyone who finds it.
- Remotely clear the internal and external memory of the device as a last resort.
If you’ve cleared the internal memory of the device using the “Protection by my Xperia” web service, you must sign in to a Google™ account that was previously synced on this device the next time you turn on the device.
The “Protection by my Xperia” service may not be available in all countries or regions.
To activate Protection by my Xperia
- Make sure you have an active data connection, and enable location services on your device.
- From your Home screen, tap .
- Find and tap Settings > Lock screen & security > Protection by my Xperia > Activate.
- Mark the checkbox to agree to the terms and conditions of the service, then tap ACCEPT.
- If prompted, sign in to your Google™ account, or create a new account if you don’t already have one.
- To verify that Protection by my Xperia can locate your device, go to myxperia.sonymobile.com and sign in to your Google™ account.
If you are sharing a device with multiple users, note that the Protection by my Xperia service is only available to the user who is logged in as the owner.
Finding, locking or erasing a lost device
Google offers a location and security web service called Find my device . After you have signed in to a Google account, Find my device is turned on by default. If you lose your device, you can use Find my device to:
- Find and show where your device is located on a map.
- Lock your device and present a message on the lock screen.
- Unlock your device and reset it by erasing its content.
- Activate the ringer, even if the sound is turned off.
Your device must be turned on, have an internet connection and have the location service activated. The Find my device service may not be available in all countries or regions.
For additional information about Find my device , go to https://support.google.com/ .
If you erased the content on your device using Find my device , you must enter the username and password for a Google account in order to use your device again. This can be any Google account which you have set up on your device as an owner. If you can’t give this information during the setup, you won’t be able to use your device at all after a reset.
To verify that your device can be found
- Go to https://www.google.com/android/find and sign in using your Google account.