account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube
Close
Help us improve our website
Answer a few quick questions to evaluate your visit.

Additional camera settings

Geotagging

You can save your photos and videos with the location where they were taken, this is called geotagging. The option to geotag your photos and videos requires a wireless network and that the GPS function is enabled.

To turn on geotagging

  1. When using the camera, tap Settings icon.
  2. Tap More and tap the Save location slider to enable. The setting is saved.

Geotagging status icons

When geotagging is activated, the following icons show the status and possibility to geotag:

Acquired GPS icon

The geographical position is saved.

GPS on icon

The geographical position is not found.

Grid lines

With Grid lines , you can apply the “Rule of Thirds” and place important objects along the grid lines or their intersections. By not always having the object in the middle of the frame, you can make your photos and videos more interesting.

To activate or deactivate the grid lines

  1. When using the camera, tap Settings icon.
  2. Tap More and tap the Grid lines slider to enable or disable. The setting is saved.

Previewing photos

You can choose to preview photos as soon as you take them.

To activate or deactivate previewing

  1. When using the camera, tap Settings icon.
  2. Tap More > Auto photo preview and select an option. The setting is saved.

Previewing settings

On

After you take a photo, a preview appears in the lower right corner of the screen for three seconds before it is saved.

Front camera only

After you take a photo with the front camera, a preview appears in the lower right corner of the screen for three seconds before it is saved.

Off

No preview appears. The photo is saved directly.

Different ways to use the volume key

You can change the way you use the volume key.

To change how the volume key is used

  1. When using the camera, tap Settings icon.
  2. Tap More > Use Volume key as and select an option. The setting is saved.

Volume key settings

Zoom

Use the volume key to zoom in or out.

Volume

The volume key is deactivated for the camera.

Shutter

Use the volume key as a shutter button for photos and videos.

Sound

When Sound is activated, the camera makes a sound when you take a photo or when you start or stop a video recording. Additionally, when you use the self-timer the countdown is indicated by a series of beeps.

To activate or deactivate sound

  1. When using the camera, tap Settings icon.
  2. Tap More and tap the Sound slider to enable or disable. The setting is saved.
Did you find this information helpful?
Yes No
Your input is valuable!
Why didn't you find this information helpful?
Submit
Thanks, we appreciate your input!
Find your product
Find
On your Xperia™ device, go to Settings > About phone/tablet > Model number